Query for academics: Moving from Note-taking inside DTPO to

I’m new to DTPO and I’m specifically eager to hear from academics (especially historians) about how they move from note-taking in DTPO to writing in, say, Scrivener or another word processing application.

Do you sort your notes inside DTPO? Do you export them in some way? And if you do export them, what happens to the metadata in each DTPO note?

Thanks so much!

P.S. I’ve read the popular posts online about historians’ DTPO workflows. They give me a great sense of how to organize a DTPO database, but they still leave me wondering how to move from note-taking inside DTPO to writing outside of it.

Hi. I’m a historian (medieval Japan). I also use both Scrivener and DTPO. However, I’m afraid my response won’t be of much help. I take notes, collect research materials, and organize everything in DTPO. I write in Scrivener. For me, it’s easy to keep the two separated.

I do write a lot on the iPad (Scrivener synced with a Dropbox folder accessed by Notesy), and I index those text files using DTPO. I do this because I want the draft to appear in searches within DTPO. Here is a post I wrote about indexing, and it shows my database in the last screenshot – I mention the post, because it probably is not one of the “popular” ones you’ve read :slight_smile:

christopher-mayo.com/?tag=devonthink

Obviously, in this scenario I’m under-utilizing Scrivener, which can also be used to collect research. I have found Scrivener adequate for such things, but much prefer apps like DTPO that specialize in managing my data.

By the way, I wrote my dissertation using a similar combination of Evernote and Scrivener.

christopher-mayo.com/?p=33