Random Note Review

Hey, I am kind of new to Scripting and was wondering if anyone could tell me whether the following is possible or not and to guide me on how to do it:

I want to create a script that opens a random file (usually a personal note, plain or rich text) from a certain Database or Group. I guess the random part is where I am lost in trying to write the script.

The rationale behind this is clearly summarized here: https://praxis.fortelabs.co/randomnote-web/

Thank you!

4 Likes

Here’s a simple example:

tell application id "DNtp"
	set theContents to (contents of current database)
	set theContent to some item of theContents
	open window for record theContent
end tell

Wow! So simple and yet so effective. Thank you!

Took me a while to figure out how the “contents” of a group were called, but for those who like me struggle with Script, this one will pick a random note from the currently selected group:

set theContents to (children of current group)
	set theContent to some item of theContents
end tell

3 Likes

Bear in mind children used this way will include groups.

Thanks for the warning. Any way to exclude groups?

Thx!

1 Like

Use…

set currGroup to current group
set theContents to (children of currGroup whose (type is not group))
1 Like

Why would you want to open random note? Curious

1 Like

Bluefrog — The script is written to pull a note randomly from a certain group. How would you set it to first select a random group … and then pull a random note from that randomly selected group?

Thanks.

Here is a basic teaching edition approach…

property ignoredGroups : {"Tags", "Inbox", "Trash"}

set theDatabase to current database
	set groupList to (parents of theDatabase whose (location does not contain "/Tags")) -- Filtering out the Tags groups as they are parents as well.
	set randomItem to some item of groupList -- This is asking for a random item in the list