Rebuild Database Problem

I’m new to DevonThink Pro and am working my way through the manual and these forums but haven’t found the solution to my problem.

I did a lot of organizational work with my DevonThink database yesterday and thought it would be prudent to use the Rebuild Database command to put everything in order. However, when I did this I got a new database with more than twice the number of entries, many apparent duplicates, and a loss of some of my carefully crafted groups.

I was able to save the day by reverting to a previously saved database, but I’m not going to be using the Rebuild Database command until I understand what went wrong.

I don’t know if this is germane but it may be: I’ve set backups in preferences to hourly and keep 10 backups (hey, better safe than sorry I figured).

Also, I’ve been keeping my DevonThink Pro database file on a spacious thumb drive. I have the program itself installed on my home and office Macs but I run the database off the thumb drive. Could this be contributing to the problem in some way?

Many thanks in advance for any help with this issue and for maintaining such a useful forum!

Cordially,

Jonathan

Hi, Jonathan:

You didn’t say what “spacious” means. How big is your database (size of the file in the Finder), and how big is your thumb drive?

I would recommend cutting back the number of internal Backup folders to 3, as 10 is really overkill, especially because you have limited storage space on which the database resides.

Personally, I’m comfortable with 3 internal Backup folders because I habitually do two things: I use the DT Pro Scripts > Export > Backup Archive script to store the smallest possible, compressed and dated external backup of my database periodically, and especially before I try anything unusual. And I manually trigger Tools > Verify & Repair followed by Tools > Backup & Optimize after investing substantial time and effort in making changes to the database – usually at break time.