"RECORD LIST" on blank screen instead of file list

I have two Macs on DT3 and iPad and iPhone on DTTG.

All sync by Bonjour and CloudKit, and all are indexing files in Dropbox.

All has been OK until today, I opened DTTG on my phone, and one of the four databases had zero items shown on the first screen

I clicked on the Database and instead of the list of folders in that database, I saw a white screen with “RECORD LIST” at top left.

The database in question was fine on the other three devices. The files were all present in Dropbox on the phone. I have “Download files: Always” set.

I tried turning sync on and off, restarting DTTG, rebooting phone.

In the end I uninstalled DTTG, reinstalled and set up as before and all is well.

Any idea what happened?

This looks as if something went wrong with the Core Data datastore. Unfortunately, as you have already deleted and reinstalled DEVONthink To Go the log files are also gone (they are deleted by iOS when you deinstalled the app). Let’s keep the fingers crossed that it won’t happen again.

Thanks. If it does happen again, what should I do extract the log ?

There was nothing showing when I clicked the cloud symbol.

You can send us the log by using ? > Contact Us from the database screen or by opening Files > On My Device > DEVONthink. There’s a file called Console.log that has way more information that the user-facing log inside the app.

Thanks all clear…will do next time, if there is one.

The same has happened to me; one of my databases - which is synced via Bonjour from my Mac to my iOS devices - has 0 files on both my iPad and my iPhone (and 651 items on the Mac). As with the OP, opening the database on the iOS devices only shows “Record List” rather than any other content. Eric, I’ve mailed you the console and sync logs from the iPad.

1 Like

There was nothing in the logs which was of any help.

The solution in my case was to turn off sync for the affected database, delete the database from DTTG on the iOS device by swiping left on the database name, confirming that I reeeeeally want to do that, then once it had gone simply turning back on sync. The database was then synced back from the Mac. In my case, however, I’m sure there was no data added to the database from DTTG, so deleting the database was risk free. If I had added data which had not synced to the Mac, things would be different.