Remove tags after moving item with AppleScript

I have chosen to automatically file items in DEVONThink using the below AppleScript inside a smart rule if / when an items is tagged. I am unable to get the last step (—Remove Tags) of the script to execute. Is it because the item has been moved? I am not a programmer so please speak slowly and I may understand it :). If there is a better way to do / write this I am all ears…

on performSmartRule(theRecords)
	tell application id "DNtp"
		repeat with theRecord in theRecords

--Bryan Tag
			if tags of theRecord contains "Bryan" then
				set BryanFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Bryan" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to BryanFollowUp

--Deborah Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Deborah" then
				set DeborahFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Deborah" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to DeborahFollowUp

--Jasmine Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Jasmine" then
				set JasmineFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Jasmine" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to JasmineFollowUp

--Mike Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Mike" then
				set MikeFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Mike" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to MikeFollowUp

--Patty Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Patty" then
				set PattyFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Patty" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to PattyFollowUp

--Positive Results Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Positive Results" then
				set PositiveResultsFollowUp to get record at "/" & "Follow Up" & "/" & "Positive Results" in database named "1. Smith Group"
				move record theRecord to PositiveResultsFollowUp

-- Spencer Tag
			else if tags of theRecord contains "Spencer" then