req: content in search results; & question about footnot

Hello devs and users,

I am an author currently working on a new book which requires the management of a lot of quotes from books, articles, internet news sites and so on. I’ve been having a look at various tools available and really like the look of DevonThink.

However, one thing I think is really useful about Stickybrain in comparison is that Stickybrain shows you up to three lines of each document’s content right in the search-results field: ie, it will show you the surrounding context of the part of the document where the search criteria first hit. Maybe I’m missing something but at the moment in DT I can’t figure out how to see what part of the content of the document is relevant without clicking on the document title in the search results field: so I can only see one at a time. It’s clearly much more useful (for the use I envisage at least) to see the contents that the search has found “at a glance” in all flagged documents. Is it possible to add this feature to DevonThink? It strikes me that the slightly strange way in which Steven Johnson arranges his information (full quote as document title, folder as book title, etc) would not be so necessary if this feature were available.

Secondly, has anyone found a way of integrating use of DevonThink with management of footnotes? At the moment I have a lot of Microsoft Word documents with heavily endnoted sources that I’d like to transfer into DevonThink; however DT’s conversion process loses all the note numbering. Ideally I’d love for DevonThink to be able to import a .doc with numbered footnotes and all, to have everything searchable within one database. But in the meanwhile is there a good workaround?

Thanks for any help!
Wittgenstein

Regarding seeing the surrounding context within the search results: I would like to see this as an option as well. I too really liked this about StickyBrain and found it helped me to click on the “right” note/doc quicker.