Scanning direct to DEVONthink from scanner

I have a Kodak all-in-one scanner, which has the ability to send scans to the computer. There are settings in the Kodak software to chose the application which will be used for opening the scans, and the destination folder.

What should I chose to have scans sent directly to the DT inbox?

I am new to DT and keep reading how great Snapscans are with DT. My plan is to see how well the Kodak does before shelling out for a snapscan, but also interested to hear what the big plus is for the Snapscans.

Thanks

Two things…

1. Scansnap does duplex scanning,
  2. It has a hopper that lets you put multiple pages in for scanning.

If you’ve used a flatbed scanner, after using a scansnap, you’ll never go back. For several years (a long time ago), I hesitated spending the cash for a scansnap when my HP flatbed did the work, but I finally went for it. (I know there are flatbeds with hoppers, but the duplex scanning is worth the cost of the scansnap.) the snapscan has worked beautifully for many years for scanning page documents. For thick paper or book pages, I’ll use my xerox then scan the output into DTPO. I rarely need to do that.

As I don’t have access to a Kodak scanner I’ll have to pass on that.

I bought a ScanSnap when the Mac-compatible model was first introduced, about 2005. It has seen pretty heavy duty since and is still going strong. During that time I’ve had two flatbed scanners die, and sometimes they were unusable after an OS X update pending a driver update (never a problem with the ScanSnap to DEVONthink Pro Office). I recently bought an iX500 ScanSnap and will give the old ScanSnap to a friend.

The ScanSnap is NOT for bound copy. It is strictly for unbound paper copy that can be inserted in the sheet feeder.