script to delete without confirming dialog

Hi everybody,

I am new to DTP and to this forum. I am still exploring and learning … (to post in the right forum for example)

While importing and reorganizing a huge database from FileMaker into DTP I got annoyed by the confirmation dialog each time when I deleted a record. As there was no way to suppress it, I wrote a little AppleScript. After reading some forum posts, I guess others might be interested as well.

Warning: I am no AppleScript Guru. Use at your own risk, do backups and please comment if you know more :wink:

The script deletes the selected records and all its instances without questions. To prevent data loss in case of unintended use, it exports each record first to the OS X user trash before deleting it (in emergency case: open the trash, re-import the file and have a tea).

using terms from application "DEVONthink Pro"
	tell application "DEVONthink Pro"
		try
			set theSelection to the selection
			repeat with each in theSelection
				export record each to "~/.Trash/"
				delete record each
			end repeat
		end try
	end tell
end using terms from

Save the script into ~/Library/Application Support/DevonThink Pro/
If you want a shortcut name the file “Movedelete___cmd-Option-ctrl-D.scpt” or somthing like it. Refresh the script menu from within DTP and use at your like.

Johannes

Here is a version of my delete-Script that only deletes the selected instance of a record (leaving its replicates untouched):

using terms from application "DEVONthink Pro"
	tell application "DEVONthink Pro"
		try
			set theSelection to the selection
			set TheGroup to current group
			repeat with each in theSelection
				export record each to "~/.Trash/"
				delete record each in TheGroup
			end repeat
		end try
	end tell
end using terms from

While testing I discovered to glitches:

1. it will not export empty records to the trash (so you might loose the name of the empty record in case you run the script on the wrong record)