Setting up workflow with DTPro, Bookends, & Scrivener

Hi,
I’ve had DTPro for years but rarely used it.
I use Bookends constantly, and now store my PDFs in its iCloud folder.
I also store research-related PDFs etc within Scriviner project files.
I’d appreciate help in understanding how best to set up my work-flow with these apps. I’ve no experience with scripts, etc…
Thanks,
Yossi

I just want to add that I have tried two things:

1. Indexing the Bookends folder in iCloud, where I store my PDFs associated with Bookends entries
  2. Importing references from Bookends via the File>Import menu.

Both produced good results, but I’m not sure yet if they are redundant.

More importantly, I’m not sure how DTPro will update as I add new references and PDFs to Bookends. I see the option to “Update Indexed Items” – which I assume will deal with the documents folder now in my DTPro Inbox based on the Bookends folder in iCloud. I do NOT see any obvious way to trigger DTPro to refresh the Bookends now in its Inbox, however.

Thank any and all for you for suggestions regarding how best to integrate these applications for academic research & writing.

The command File > Import > Referenes from Bookends skips already imported references or updates them if necessary.

Thanks, cgrunenberg, that indeed works to update the references, but what about the associated PDFs?

All I can think of adding at this point, is “what do you hope to achieve with DTPO”?

That might give clarity to some possible suggestions.

I too have Bookends and Scrivener, along with DTPO.

Scrivener is treated solely as the place I write (I sometimes drop PDFs in there, but that is on the odd occasion when I am only working on my laptop, and don’t have the external monitors available).