Slow response

I am quite new to DevonThinkPro. I have a large collection of teaching materials consisting of pdfs, docs, illustrator files, mp3s, ppts, and a few other odd file types which I use in my teaching. I have indexed everything into a database. The database is 3.2G. I find that every action takes an inordinate amout of beach ball spinning time, even just deleting or moving a file. It is very frustrating. Can anyone offer any advice? Is my database too big? Are there too many different file types. Am I doing something wrong. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

How much RAM does you computer have? If a database is that huge, there can’t be enough RAM :slight_smile:

Thanks for your reply. I have a G3 with 512MB RAM. Is this not enough?

No. If you’re using Mac OS X 10.4.x “Tiger”, then that’s just sufficient for basic tasks (like mailing, browsing etc.).

Yes I am using Tiger. It looks like a visit to the store for some extra RAM. Thank you for your time and advice. I’ll let you know the outcome of the RAM upgrade.

Hi,
I have a similar, albeit not so serious, problem with speed.
I have a MacBook Pro 17" with 2 Gb ram. My main database is about 600 Mb, but very often when I add a text file, or I perform some other operations I get a very slow feedback from DT Pro (1.1.1).
It seems it get worse with the time the db is open.

Any other text app I am using is so fast on the MacBook pro, but DTPro makes me wait sometimes quite a few seconds.

In the past I used to have the “Automatic Wikilinks” option on, but I stopped doing that because things were too slow. Now that option is off.

There is anything I can do to speed things up? I did a “rebuild Database”, with no effect.

I really like DTPro, but this slowing down effect is quite frustrating.