Some questions about DTG

I’m a long time DevonThink Pro Office user. The idea of having my reference database on my iPhone is attractive, but I’ve a few questions.

1. Just how robust is this app? Are most people porting over their entire database, or just portions of it? I’ve got 1.8 gig and growing for mine. Can this app really handle that? I’ve little interest in having to pick and choose which folders are synced.

2. From reading prior reviews and threads, it looks like this app has been disastrously unstable, and while I’m seeing indications that it’s better with the latest version, it would appear stability is still an issue. There are several recent posts lamenting crashes while syncing.

3. How quickly does this app sync new, moderately sized items?

I just started using Evernote to capture items I need to have on my iPhone. Things like travel itineraries, restaurants I want to visit, etc… Evernote makes it easy. I don’t want to use Evernote as my primary information repository, that is still DTPO for me, but so far Evernote is great at those simple things you want to make sure you have with you on the road. If I could easily sync my DTPO database to my iPhone, I could then just dump these kinds of items into DTPO and use this app to bring them up on my iPhone. But size of my database, stability of this app, and speed are concerns.

Would love to know how others are using this app and what their real world usage experience is like.

I have a database with a large number of files that I use for testing, but at this point nothing that large, with regards to size. With the current sync process, syncing portions of a database is probably the best approach.

We’re working on a new sync process which will sync whole databases. My current intent is to get the new sync process implemented (as that is still a very common point of problems), then start addressing some of the other issues (such as performance with large databases).