split file in multiple files

Hi,
whenever I work outside my house, be it the office PC, an internet café or on a pda, I usually create large files. Especially with my Alphasmart-3000, a writing tool that saves text in 8 different files, I end up with quite long text files. When I am back at home, I have to spend some time splitting the file up in different small files in DT.
I have no experience in scripting - is it possible to set up a script in DTPro which cuts one large text file in seperate pieces? And can I specify the separation while I write? this would be extremely handy for the users of bibliographic software as well, because it would be possible to split a long literature list into seperate files.

For example, I could enter a key or a key combination whenever I want the files to be split. Whenever I would insert, say, the ^ key, the script would know: “Ok, now I have to split the document here”, create a new RTF-File, and go on until the whole large file is split into several RTFs.
I tried Automator, but failed. Do you have an idea?

thank you!
Mark

It’s definitely a case for “csplit,” a utility built into the bash shell.

ss64.com/bash/csplit.html

A little applescript would be very nice (and I would like to see it as an addition to DEVONthink’s offered scripts), where you input the regular expression to be used as a split point, the script uses the currently-selected record or records, and then DEVONthink imports all of the resulting files and renames them to the first line of the created document.

It doesn’t seem to me that it’d be all that hard, but I don’t personally have the mojo for it. It’d be especially useful for people like me, who often download long lists of quotes and anecdotes and so forth.

Here’s a non-scripting way to break long files into small DT entries.

Place cursor at the start of text section.
Hold down the shift key.
Scroll down to the end of text section.
Section will be selected (turn your chosen highlight color)