Splitting DBs or not

I’ve been using DT for about 3-4 years for all my personal and business receipts. Everything imported is a PDF file. I’ve always kept each year as a separate db for size reasons and general paranoia of something larger crashing more frequently than something smaller :smiley:
The only drawback is when searching to find something I have to know the year to search. Which as I add years to the dbs and get older seems to be more of a challenge.
So for a test I made a composite db of the last 4 years of receipts and found the combo is smaller than just my 07 db! The combined db is just over 900 megs without backups. 07 was almost this size by itself.
How can this be? Am I better off keeping all the years as separate dbs or should I combine?

Your key phrase in comparing the size is “without backups”. The default setting for internal Backup folders is three. A new database doesn’t yet have any content in those Backup folders. In version 1.x all text-type files including text (plain, rich and other text formats), HTMLand WebArchive are stored in the monolithic database, and so are also copied into the internal Backup folders (including images contained in RTFD and WebArchive files).

Other Imported file types, including PDF, Postscript, images, QuickTime media and “unknown” file types are stored in the internal Files folder and are not duplicated in the internal Backup files, except for their text content which is included in the monolithic database and, therefore, is duplicated in Backup folders.

When you open a database the monolithic database is loaded into memory. But the internal Backup folders are not loaded into memory, nor are the contents of the Files folder. Those internal Backup folders do require additional disk storage space, but there’s no memory use penalty for the security they provide.