Submissions Tracking

I’m probably repeating a question that has been answered here, but after doing some searching of the forums I haven’t found any postings. I’m relatively new to using DevonTHINK Pro Office, so I haven’t much expertise at using it.

I would like to be able to use DT Pro Office to track material I have under submission to publishers. My guess is that using a sheet is the logical choice. I was wondering if anyone had devised a template specifically designed for this, or could offer some instruction on devising one.

A record would have the document’s title and the flexibility to accept multiple entries for publisher names, dates it was sent, acceptances, rejections, reprintings, rights granted, and payments.

TIA.

Well, maybe I figured it out:

Just start a new sheet, add as many column headings as you need, and click finish. You can link the title in the sheet to the document you’re tracking.

Can that be done? I tried creating links in the sheets but wasn’t able to.

Record contents are plain text, so you can’t create a hyperlink in a Record.

Easy workaround: In a Record, enter the name of the document to which you would like to “link”. Afterwards, select it and press Command-/ (Lookup). A Search window will open with the document name already entered. Limit the search to Name for quick response. Press Return. That’s it, in milliseconds of search response time. So you have achieved the objective of a hyperlink, but in a different way.

You’re right. You can’t link from a sheet to a another document. That certainly isn’t very useful.

It would be nice if one could establish links inside Records. Perhaps in the future.

Nevertheless, I still use Sheets & Records to do things very similar to what you want to do, using the method described above.

Adding links from records in sheets to documents elsewhere in DTP would definitely make it a more useful application.