Sync problem: "Data wasn't encoded properly?"

I’ve been using DEVONthink Pro Office for a few months and I’m now running into a problem with syncing a couple of databases. (I’m using a fully-updated version 2.8.2 on both my computers with a fully updated OSX Yosemite 10.10.1.)

In both cases the sync commences, and then I get the following error message in the log: “[foldername]: (Could not load a record (Could not scan data. Data wasn’t encoded properly?))”

It then cancels the sync and the whole database is not synchronised.

In one case it’s the tags group that stops the process. In the other it’s just a group within the database. In the first one, I have never been able to get sync to work. In the second, it involves a database I have been syncing fine for months, and it now suddenly gets stuck at a folder which has not been changed recently. (It started happening after I accidentally unchecked my Dropbox account in the sync preferences screen and had to re-sync all databases.)

Does anyone know what is going on here? Google doesn’t turn up any hits for the error message. I have tried the obvious thing of looking for files with bad filenames, or different kinds of file that might be causing the problem. For the most part the files are pdfs and various documents (Microsoft Office, Pages, Numbers) and a few emails.

Cheers,
Mike

This should be fixed in the next maintenance release.

Great - thanks.

Mike

Hi Bluefrog,

I’m having the same problem with databases that were once properly synching and a new one that I can’t sync at all.

Can you advise when we can see the next maintenance release. Sadly, since I travel so extensively, this sync problem has become a real show-stopper for me :frowning:

Thanks,

Tom

same situation as tomwujec.

Is there any workaround or if I downgrade to an older version would help?

Thanks!

Hi Bluefrog,