Tags .... aren't

Just updated to the 2.0 release. (I miss the beta stripes at the top :slight_smile: )

My concept of tags don’t seem to coincide with Devon’s, as I’ve suspected from using the beta (and judging by many other posts in this forum). One area that has been very much into tags, a lot longer than the Open MetaData work, is photography software. If you look into Lightroom or Aperture, tagging (and hierarchical tagging) has been built-in for a number of years. I’m a mathematician and computer scientist who’s been interested in taxonomy and the storage and retrieval of information, and all my experience with tags (especially in photography) rests on the concept of set theory.

A group of nodes with the common tag of “foo” should be retrievable using that one tag. For example, if I have nested tags:

History

Paris
Photos
Paris

then anything tagged with Paris should be in one set. In the photography apps, tagging an image with the first “Paris” will add the tags “History” and “Paris”. If a second image is tagged with the other “Paris”, it also has the tag “Photos”. If I extract the set “Paris”, then I get both images.

In DTPO, if I bring up the tag view, then I’ll have two “Paris” icons. This isn’t, in my opinion, proper. There is only one set “Paris” and a single icon should be displayed resulting in a list of all items tagged with “Paris”.

Of course, I understand that DTPO’s use of tags is based on Devon’s concepts of tags. (I also find their mantra of “tags are groups” unusual, as tags are based on sets, which are not hierarchical in the group/folder sense.)

At this point, I must part with DTPO as it does not support my view of tags (and that of many other applications).

I agree with you that multiple tags of the name should be combined for display. I mentioned that a few weeks back to the DevonThink support team, and was told that this request might be addressed in a future release.