Test driving DevonThink

I have downloaded DevonThink and am considering switching to it from Evernote. Here’s some information about me: I am an attorney practicing in criminal defense. I currently use Evernote as a project/case management platform and to store information that is helpful, but not specific to any case.

I played around with DevonThink over the weekend and found it rather overwhelming.

Any other attorneys on this forum? If so, do create a datebase for each case/client or have one called “clients” and then create separate files of some sort for each client within it?

Thanks,

Andy

Andy:

I am not an attorney (nor do I play one on TV :smiley: ) but my suggestion is to just test and go with what feels good for you. I dealt with a law firm in Spain last month and discussed this very issue because how I see data may not be how they see it.

(That probably makes it seems even more overwhelming. I felt that way when I started with DEVONthink too. :slight_smile: )

Start a database based on one style. Try it out - putting data in, searching, etc. Tweak to fit your style. Don’t like it? Start a new database with another style and drag the data from the old database - deleting the old one if you want - and get a feel for that one. DEVONthink is very adaptable to one’s personal style. I hope this helps.

That is helpful. But, I have a follow-up question. Say I have database for each case. If I do not have the database for client A open, but have an issue with client B and need to search all my databases for an article I clipped and placed into client A’s database, can DevonThink search closed databases?

If not, it makes more sense to have one database called “clients” and then have notes and/or groups (for larger cases) setup. I could then use tags to note which cases are active and which are former clients. Make sense?