The basis for scoring results in DT

I’m new to DT but I’d like to know how this works because I’m finding the ‘relevance’ displays confusing.

I have a small database of about 2-300 documents dealing with issues in the same domain. They range in size from 200 word press releases to long monographs.

Starting with the toolbar search field (say, searching ALL for an Exact phrase of one or more words): how are the documents returned ranked? By simple frequency of occurrence?

This seems to be the case since I regularly see the LONGEST document in a subject domain returned at the top of the list, even when it is NOT the most relevant by any semantic measure. For example brief documents with the phrase in the title of the document and whose content includes one or two headings using the phrase (RIGHT ON THE NOSE for a relevancy score) are found at the bottom of the list.

I scroll down through the returned documents to the bottom of the list and choose a document I believe is more relevant than DT believes. Although it is listed near the bottom of the list, it is located in two DT folders (as replicants). The title of the document contains the words I searched for and one of the folders in which it is located (as a replicant) has a name that contains the words in the phrase for which I searched (in other words, I have classified this document to a folder named for its relevant content). But DT has returned – at the bottom of the relevancy list – the replicant in an earlier folder in the hierarchy whose name bears no relation to the content I searched for.

I click on that document in the list of documents returned by the search and the drawer to the right of the window fills with a list of documents. But none of these is ANY of the documents (all replicants) in the folder with a name that contains the words I searched for. Why not?

The same list seems to appear in the Drawer when the ‘see also’ button is pressed.