The future of DevonThink?

Hi

Not sure I should be posting this in Troubleshooting, but I didn’t know what category best fits this topic.

I’m using a trial version of DT and am leaning to getting a license, but a thought occurred to me that has me needing more info.

I love the concept of a paperless office, and to be able to file and structure my data in a logical way. However, I’m a photographer and I’ve seen how quickly digital media has changed over the last 2-4 years, and some photo formats have actually become obsolete, and since technology advances in such an incredible pace, and things change so rapidly, and company’s quit or shift their business, I was curious what was the future of DevonThink and more about my data.

I am thinking long term here, and trying to imagine having to recover data 5 years from now. Will I be using DevonThink? Will it still be around? If it’s not around, what will become of my data? Is it structured in Devon in the logical way I have now, ready for me to export and then import into another system with all hierarchies in tact, or will I be left with endless data that I will have to resort? The beauty of paper is that it is never really becomes obsolete. What is the analysis here long term?

May be I just need some reassurance here, but does anyone have any thoughts regarding long term foresight into their data being paperless?

Thanks!
:confused:

We think there’s a very promising future for DEVONthink.

You can be sure of one thing: All the files you store in a database are stored in their native file formats, and they can be recovered even if you are no longer using DEVONthink.

Will file formats, applications, operating systems and computing hardware change in coming years? Absolutely, There will be challenges as some things go obsolete, and benefits as well.