Total Newb Question

Really ignorant question that I have despite reading the manual for DevonThink, which I just downloaded. How exactly do you clip from a Web page? On the very good blog, Tech Ronin, I read that she does so by hitting Cmd-shift -). And here’s where I look really stupid–I’m not even sure what that means. When I hit Cmd, then the shift key, then the closing parentheses key, nothing happens. I’m sure this sounds quite foolish to many, but I’m so new at this…Thanks in advance.

Judine:

Select the text in your browser, then press and hold down Shift, Command, )

If that doesn’t work, perhaps another application on your computer has ‘highjacked’ that keyboard shortcut. If so, go to the menu bar and click on DEVONthink, Services, DEVONthink, Take Rich Note. That should work.

Personally, I usually use the WebKit browser built into DEVONthink. When I’m viewing a Web page, I can select text/images and Control-click on the selected area, then choose the Capture Note option. (You can import your regular browser’s bookmarks into DEVONthink by going to menubar and choosing File > Import > Bookmarks/ Camino or Safari or Firefox or OmniWeb.)

Thanks, Bill. The first option doesn’t work; is there a way to figure out which application took it (I have an early version of StickyBrain)?

And the second option doesn’t work either–when I go to DevonThink, Services, there is no option for DevonThink…

Really appreciate your help. I’ve seen your advice in the Circus Ponies forum, too.

Make sure the DEVONthink program package is located in your Applications folder. Then, log out and in again so that the Finder can register DEVONthink’s services.

Best,

Eric.

Thanks. I’m not at my Mac right now, but I will try that. Congrats on all the tremendous publicity you’ve been receiving lately. I work in communications also, and I know how valuable that can be!