Totally Different Way of Thinking About Organization??

I’m brand new to Devonthink and have not yet wrapped my head around it (despite reading the “Getting Started” book and watching tutorials). I was hoping to talk to someone live, via phone or face to face, but I have not found any users responding to my chat requests. I’m a writer (a few genres), and run a nonprofit, as well as manage a few other projects. I’m a heavy Word user with thousands of documents which are currently in loads of well organized folders and sub-folders. I find Word docs somewhat easily because my folder naming is pretty sensible and organized. However, more and more I’ve wanted to have organized PDF’s, web clippings, and interactivity with other apps.

I want to retain my current well organized folder structure in Word, but understand (I think) that in using Devonthink, it might be more helpful to think about organization a bit differently. I can’t seem to make the mental shift though into what different is. Can someone help with the translation (i.e. a folder which is labelled “Nonprofit” with 18 subfolders about various aspects of the nonprofit (“outreach,” etc., all with subfolders about various aspects of that activity … translates to Devonthink … how? What would that look like in Devonthink?). And what do I do with my old system?

Thanks a ton!!

Personally, I wouldn’t complicate the first usage of Devonthink by trying to organise your data much differently. Devonthink’s strengths tend to lie in classifying and finding your information, not in turning its organisation upside down.

The fundamental issue (it seems to me) for anyone starting afresh with the application is to what extent you index your data, and to what extent you import it. Think of indexing as Devonthink providing the card index to your library of data; importing is where Devonthink provides the library shelves as well.