tutorial

Can anyone recommend a more detailed tutorial on how to work with Devonthink than the ones offered on the website? I’m interested in learning step by step how to navigate through the software. Thanks a lot!

The tutorials are provided as introductions to features in DEVONthink. The PDF documentation manual is quite comprehensive in documenting features, options and commands.

But here’s the rub, in response to your question. The DEVONthink applications are general-purpose, flexible and accommodate a very wide range of workflows by people who do lots of different things, and for different purposes.

I’ve been using DEVONthink almost since it first appeared. I consider it a wonderful environment for the kind of work I do. I monitor the user forum every day, and am often amazed by uses of DEVONthink by power users such as korm, Greg_Jones and Frederiko (to mention only a few). I’m still learning things from others.

But the fact is that each of us uses DEVONthink in different ways. There can be no overarching tutorial about what could be done with DEVONthink, and how. Joe Kissel’s writings about DEVONthink might be useful. Try Web searches for articles and blogs about DEVONthink that exist out in the cloud. Steven Johnson, an accomplished writer, has written about how he uses DEVONthink in research.

My usual advice to new users is to start simply, watch some of the tutorials and then play with the application by creating a test database. I emphasize the word “play” because it’s the best way to begin to get a feel for how you might use it for your needs. Just capture some data into one or more databases and experiment. Don’t worry if you do something wrong and mess up an early database (you still have the original files you had copied into the database) and can learn by experience, throwing away that initial database and starting over. No harm done.