Usage scenario for short term consulting projects

I’ve been using DevonThink Pro Office since March, and it’s one of those pieces of software where I think there’s probably more that I could do with it. However, I don’t know if what I’m thinking of doing is the intended use of the software, which leads us to this forum post.

I’ve got multiple databases. The personal ones are easy to figure out - a database for scanned receipts, another database for a journal, and then another database for all my work email, and a final database named ‘work’. It’s that last one that I’m thinking about as I’m barely using it.

I work as a consultant, and take on short-term projects with customers. Projects generally are one or two weeks. Projects have a high degree of similarity between the projects, even though the customers vary wildly.

My current workflow is that I create a new Folder in OS X every time I have a new customer. Under that folder I create a ‘development’ and a ‘documentation’ folder. The development folder contains lots of statistical data that’s highly sensitive - so it goes into an encrypted disk image, and we’ll not further consider it. The ‘documentation’ folder contains Word documents, Visio illustrations, and PDFs. So if I had forty customers last year, I’d have forty high-level folders, each with a ‘development’ and a ‘documentation’ folder underneath.

What I’m thinking of doing to note trends between customers is either:
a) create a new database for each customer, put everything that’s in the ‘documentation’ folder into that; or,
b) create a new database for all customers, create folders within that database, put the contents of the ‘documentation’ folder into those customer-specific folders (in DevonThink); or,
c) leave it alone, let my own artificial intelligence note market trends that cross customer segments.