Use case system-wide CSS for Markdown

First, let me say that DEVONthink’s support for Markdown was a big part of what made me choose it when I decided to leave Evernote. The good Markdown support combined with indexed files and DEVONthink’s superior search makes for an almost perfect environment.

I’m a developer/support person. I write a lot of Markdown. My team writes a lot of Markdown. Some Markdown goes to ZenDesk, some Markdown is our knowledge base or documentation web site, some is Markdown I write for my own notes. Most of the web clippings I make end up as clutter-free Markdown–so much better after the DEVON clipper was introduced!

DEVONthink’s default Markdown stylesheet is a bit plain. I’m aware I can use a per-document stylesheet link. That’s acceptable for my own notes. That’s not going to work for shared Markdown.

Having our entire documentation web site in indexed Markdown format, alongside our Markdown knowledge-base and my own notes makes my job so much easier because there is one place with excellent search that I stop first. The shared Markdown files are styled with the site theme by Hugo for the docs site, and GitHub’s default for the shared KB. I can’t inject CSS into the shared Markdown.

Please, allow us to use a custom stylesheet for any Markdown file that doesn’t specify one. In a perfect world, maybe define a few selectable ones like Marked. I’m aware that I can change the font and size, but the thing I really want is inline code and code blocks to be styled. You get really used to that on GitHub. I’m sure we all have our opinions about how to style things, so I think this would be useful for a lot of “Markdown first” types, like me.

Thanks,
Bill

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion! One workaround might be to use Preferences > Web > Style Sheet but this would affect any web view.