Using DT as a reference database – best practices

Hi!

I’m a journalist in need of a reference database. I need somewhere to place ideas, random notes, highlights from articles I’ve read, web pages, pdf-documents and images, etc . Stuff that I need right now or might need in a year or two.

I’ve tried DT a couple of times before, but it never stuck with me. With the new sync I’ve decided to give DT a serious chance. But before I dive in and try to set things up myself, I would appreciate any input on how to have DT store what I need.

What I need to store

• Plain text notes I create myself.
  • Plain text notes that I create using this Ifttt recipe (https://ifttt.com/recipes/455089-instapaper-highlights-to-dropbox), which takes highlights I make in Instapaper and stores them as individual plain text notes on my Dropbox account.
  • Academic papers in pdf format (that I want to both read and annotate)
  • Offline copies of web pages
  • Images

Devices in use
I want to use my reference database on OS X, iPad and iPhone.

Questions

• To me, all of the information I want to store is treated the same, it’s stuff that I need in my work. So it seems natural to have just one database. But is there a reason to split things in more than one?
  • Indexing vs importing – when is either the better choice?
  • If a folder is indexed, I can still access the files outside of DT which means that they are available for backup as individual files. If I import stuff into the database, am I running any risk of a total corruption of the database, loosing everything?
  • One of the reasons I like plain text files and pdf:s is that there is minimal lockin. That I have everything in those formats today is the reason I can consider trying DT in the first place. If I import files into the DT database, am I loosing this possibility for the future or can files easily be exported in their native file format to a directory structure on my harddrive?