Webarchives and icons

I’ve just started using DEVONthink more regularly. I have used it a bit before so I have a few items in my database from that earlier trial usage and now I have more items from my ‘new’ usage. I’m still trying to decide which view I find most comfortable so you can see I’m very new at this.

Perhaps I’m missing a preference somewhere or just not ‘getting it.’ But my old web archives (perhaps created with OS X 10.3.x vs my currently installed OS 10.4.x) have this nice icon showing a preview of the archive. All my new archives have this awful ugly default type icon showing a picture the same as the Safari icon and the word “ARCHIVE” under it. I know when I started using DEVONthink again recently it downloaded and installed a newer version than what I had on my computer.

To summarize:

1. Older (perhaps 5 months old) version of DEVONthink, perhaps OS 10.3.x (but I think most likely OS 10.4.x), webarchives have preview type icons. :slight_smile:
  2. Newer (current) version of DEVONthink, OS 10.4.x, webarchives have default type “ARCHIVE” icon :frowning:

What am I doing wrong? I even tried to capture the archives with Safari vs with Firefox 3 and they are still the same. I even just tried using DEVONthink by capturing the bookmark, opening it in the DEVONthink browser and then right mouse (I guess that’s control click) and selecting “Capture Web Archive.”

TIA
Brian

In Preferences > QuickTime check the option to create thumbnails for images.

As to view options, most users prefer the Three Panes or the Vertical Split view. These provide maximum information about organization, groups and documents, especially for large databases. Note that additional sortable columns can be added by choosing View > Columns --.

Thumbnails for web archives are only created if…

• you capture a web archive within DEVONthink
  • add a web archive from DEVONagent

They’re not created by bookmarklets or scripts for example.

OK, thanks for the help but…