What feature is most "missed" by a newbie?

I am a relative DT newbie. A long time Evernote user but never happy with the organizational limitations for information (I feel the need for some hierarchy and EN has none, really). About two years ago I tried DT for a little while but felt it was a bit confusing and really didn’t give it a chance. I decided to move some of my stuff to OneNote. I used OneNote for a about a year and liked the organizational capabilities but the MAC version was really, really quirky. So, I decided about 6 months ago to give DT another shot, and this time I gave it a bit more time and got hooked. I have now moved all of my information from EN to DT except for the notebooks have integrations with other apps.

I have been using DT happily for about 6 months and the only discomfort is that I always have the feeling that I am “missing something”. That there is some magic that I could be harnessing that I am not.

So… now to my question. For all of your DT experts. Is there is some DT feature that everybody should use but isn’t obvious to newbies? (It’s ok if the answer is “no”, but it would be nice to know that :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Two things I’ve learned recently (the learning of which prompted me to ask a similar question to the one you’re asking, because I’ve been using DT for three years and am only now starting to feel like I know what I’m doing with it):

• Investigate the Workspaces feature in the Go menu. I learned about this feature by reading a blog post about it, and it immediately transformed the way I use DT. Words cannot express how pleased I am to have found this feature.

• If you assign a tag to a folder, all of the files in that folder inherit that tag. I learned about this a few weeks ago, less than 24 hours after having tagged about 150 files by hand that were all already in the same folder.

15 Likes