Why Doesn't the Magic-Hat List Suggest Tags?

I use a shallow folder structure supplemented by twenty or so tags. The magic hat list is great for quickly assigning the items to the right folder (group) but why can’t it also suggest all the relevant tags? i realize tags have autocomplete but if DEVONthink can guess the group why can’t it guess the entire list of tags without me doing anything? Perhaps I should just convert my tags into subgroups, but for me, and for my database, I think a shallow folder system with ~20 or so tags is the right system, but it is a shame I can’t automate it more fully.

Think about it. You want DEVONthink to replicate your document to any number of Tag groups? I can suppose this might be an interesting option for someone – not one I would want, however. I think I’d be forever cleaning up goofy tagging mistakes.

Thanks for the response, Korm. I should have said that I am a DTPO newbie that is naively trying to carry-over the tagging system I’ve used in pinboard and prior note taking apps without knowing how the DT community thinks about the subject of tagging.

Perhaps a specific example of my desired behavior would be helpful:

Any website not directly related to my research goes into a News and Websites group. Many of these non-research-related websites are software related. Nevertheless, I just send the webpage to the DEVONthink inbox using the browser extension in Safari. Later I go into DEVONthink to process the inbox. In processing the inbox, the Magic Hat almost always suggests the News and Websites group, correctly, which is a big help. But then I have to manually type “software” in the tag field. I find myself doing this repetitively and often, which led me to wonder: If DTPO can guess the group why not the tag too?