2 questions before buying?

Hi,
I’m new to Devonthink and am investigating products for document management.
I come from Windows where I used PaperPort Pro 14 and am looking for two features that I absolutely have to have but I don’t find them, that would be deterrent for me:

1- is there any way to automatically, via a plug in not a script or switching to a 3rd party tool, to import and reference WordPerfect documents. I have hundreds of them and can’t afford not to have them. The extension is .wpd

2- Most important: any way to clean scanned documents?
In PaperPort, you have an Enhance option that allows to remove grey backgrounds, coffee mug marks, spots, shadows, paper wrinkles, etc… Scanners don’t do that no matter one can say. I absolutely need that option and didn’t find anything like this in DevonThink Office Pro. It uses the OS/X Preview to display scanned (pdf) documents and of course Preview doesn’t come with such features. Again, I don’t want a 3rd party tool to switch back and forth. I want something integrated.

Any way to have those two basic features?
Thanks for any help.
Steve

Steve:

I would not categorize those as basic features.

1. The WordPerfect format is not as open as other text-based formats. I take it you’ve attempted to use one in DEVONthink? (I don’t have any here so I can’t test it for myself.)

2. The enhancements in Paperport are not “standard equipment” so you will not find them in most scanner interfaces.

Both these options could be filed as feature requests. BTW, why the insistence on no scripts/plugins/etc. Part of the thing that separates the Mac from the Windows world is the extensibility of the applications, an ability given to the User.

From our Lead Developer… WordPerfect Spotlight & Quick Look Plug-ins.

Ok, that’s why I’m asking, I don’t talk about scanner built-in features, PaperPort has tis natively no matter what scanner I use, it works even if I take a picture of a document.