A Cleverer "Open With"?

Hi

I’ve been using DevonThink Pro for a few years now. Recently I moved my Diary (US people often call Diaries “Journals”) from FileMaker Pro to DevonThink Pro. In FileMaker Pro my diary was simply a database with two fields, “date_time” and “entry”. In DevonThink Pro each entry is an RTF document whose name is the current date and time.

The reason for the move is that with DevonThink Pro I can write the entries in the lovely WriteRoom. I just create the new document for the entry (using an AppleScript I’ve made which puts current date/time as the name) then I open it in WriteRoom and that works very well.

There are a couple of things about that “Open With” that could be better perhaps.

The first, and most important thing is that I want to suggest that it should be like MacJournal’s “Edit in Other Application”. Using this in MacJournal closes the editor in MacJournal itself, you get instead a message that the document is being edited in another application and there are a couple of buttons one with “Reopen” and the other with “Stop Tracking”. In DevonThink Pro the document remains open and editable in DTP and in the other application, if I make a change in DTP and save, this will wipe out all the changes I made in the other application. It is quite dangerous. If I use “Open With” on a document which has unsaved changes then those changes will not appear in the version opened. So in this area MacJournal is way ahead of DTP. However I wish to use DTP for my diary because I use it for many other things and it has such great search capabilities and that kind of thing.