A question concerning MANUAL & INEXPENSIVE DTP3 backups

I’m sorry to ask such a noob question, but after reading through just about every thread on DTP3 backups in the forum, I’m still confused and I don’t want to screw this up.

To put it simply, I’m looking for the least expensive, manual way to run a weekly backup of my DTP3 database and save it in the cloud. Will the following concept work and will the backup contain my .pdf source files should I ever need to restore everything from scratch?

1. Highlight the database I wish to backup.
  2. Run the, Export/Daily Backup Archive script.
  3. Locate the Backup folder and copy the .dtBase2.zip backup file onto my iCloud Drive.

Will this plan work? If not, I’m open to any suggestions. Thank you!

Welcome @winmker

Are you importing the files into your database?

Why does it have to be manual and only once a week?

2 Likes

My goal is to find the least expensive option for backing up my DTP3 database and, since I’m new to this, I was making the assumption that performing a manual backup once per week would be the least costly and less time consuming option. I’m open to any suggestions you might have. Thank you!

Like @chrillek said—“why manually”?

My solution is that I slightly altered the onboard Daily Backup Archive script and set a reminder for each database to run the script. The reminders set the intervals, the scripts hold the target folders. Which in my case is a cloud folder, just not iCloud.

The script save the databases as .zip files so there are no troubles with cloud services.

Please note that I use the online .zip files as backups in addition to local backups, both created with Time Machine and otherwise.

Time Machine is on board and can back up continuously. Arq can run at scheduled times and back up to the cloud. There are other similar products.