Accessing DT from several machines, advice? (noob level)

I have a situation that I think I should probably undo and rework, but I would like advice, if anyone has time. I am not a power user and need plain-English explanations.

Here is the background. (There are probably going to be things in this description that make power-users wince. Sorry.)

• I am a writer and work both on a main iMac and also on a laptop when I am on the road. I have DT installed on both.
  • I keep most of my life in Dropbox.
  • I have my DTP databases in folders within my Dropbox.
  • I never have DT open on the two machines at the same time (well, once or twice by accident, but not as a working rule).
  • This was all set up pre the arrival of Sync.

I’ve picked up from discussions in these forums that this may be a bad set-up. So, what would the advice be to change it? Do I have to:

• move DT out of Dropbox on my “main” computer
  • which would make it not available to the road computer?
  • How then do I make the DT databases accessible to the second computer?

Thank you for any thoughts.

Hi. See the “Synchronizing” tutorial for 2012/12/13. Does this answer your questions?
devontechnologies.com/suppor … rials.html

Thank you for pointing this out, but it doesn’t actually answer my question.

After some noodling, I discovered this thread:

which appears to answer my questions. I will undertake the process described in it, maybe creating some small non-critical databases to test what I am doing. However:

If you read through that thread, it’s really evident that the OP is as confused as I am (in fact, I’m probably more confused) and that things have to be explained multiple times because documentation doesn’t exist and the tutorials aren’t helpful.