Adobe Acrobat and Optimizing Scans

:slight_smile: Greetings, I’m new to DTPO and just starting to get the hang of it.
I have a couple of questions regarding Acrobat, which I have been using for number of years in my attempts to organize.
When I scan into Acrobat (I’ve had a Fujitsu 1500 for a couple of years) I routinely optimize scanned document and reduce file size. Optimizing straightens and cleans the document and makes documents that print out neater. Reducing file size eliminates backward comparability (I chose compatible with Acrobat 8.0) This significantly reduces file size.

Question 1, With regard to DevonThink is there any reason not to optimize and reduce? Other than the extra time, which I’m more than willing to take.

Question 2, although I’m wiling to take the extra time, I would like to make the process more efficient/automated. Now I scan into DTPO. Open the new PDF, open in Acrobat, choose optimize, choose reduce file, replace the new optimized/reduced file, close Acrobat, and move on to the next file. I haven’t figured out how to batch process or automate. If someone has come up with Automator/Scripting or Plug-in for this process I would appreciate some help. If not, someday I’ll figure it out.
Thank You

Mark, you didn’t mention what it was you are scanning and if your goal in putting your documents in DEVONthink is to have searchable, OCRd PDFs in your database. The nature and quality of your originals, what you want to do with the scans, and whether you need to print scanned documents later – all of this affects your workflow.

Assuming that, like many users, you have paper documents that are mainly text, that you want to OCR the files so they are searchable in DEVONthink, and that you won’t be printing PDFs frequently, then answers to your questions could be: