All in on Devonthink 3 and couldn't be more pleased

In the past several months I had to declare organizational bankruptcy. I am a solo criminal defense attorney. And I receive a lot of paperwork. The amount of paperwork per case can range anywhere from 10-20 PDF files to hundreds of PDF files. A plus is that now that most of the Courts I appear in are in e-filing, I don’t have to do nearly as much scanning as I used to. Nevertheless, I just couldn’t find the time to do the task of moving all those PDFs to their assigned folders. I gave up. I had an inbox with 750 PDFs in it and would occasionally spend 30 minutes looking for a single document that I needed for a hearing.

So I decided I would hire a virtual assistant to help me organize my digital mess. I even started preparing some instructional screencasts for whomever I would end up hiring. As a last ditch effort, I decided to index my 70 GB of work folders to see how fast it would process. It seemed to work well, so I decided to go ahead and import a copy of the whole thing. In one day, I easily processed all my PDFs using the classify shortcut (ctrl-c). I have found that Devonthink works very well at classifying documents if you have flat folders with no or very few subfolders. The more subfolders, the more DT seems to get confused about where you want to put your files. I basically just have flat folders organized by client name (last, first). Instead of using a lot of subfolders, I have created about 25 tags to apply to the individual files. DT3 now has a filter pane that allows you to filter files within a group. This basically operates with the same effect as subfolders would. Although tagging is time consuming, I am trying to limit both tagging and naming conventions to cases where there are a large number of documents, such that I can’t keep track without those.