An Attic Called DEVONthink

I’m an educator and consultant, and have been searching for years for a tool that would satisfy some pretty heavy-duty needs for knowledge management. I’m happy to say that I think DEVONthink is “the one,” although it is not without a few weaknesses (many of which, it seems, are being addressed in ongoing development).

On my blog, I posted a pretty detailed list of my criteria for choosing a tool, and how DT(Pro) meets those almost perfectly. Although I’m certain the contents of my review will come as no surprise to the DEVONthink faithful, I thought I’d mention the link here, and would love to hear what you think of it. I’m no expert in DT by any means, and know that many of the folks here might be able to give me suggestions as to ways to improve my usage (and to address misconceptions I probably have).

http://www.douglasjohnston.net/weblog/archives/2005/05/22/devonthink-attic/

all my best,
dj

a million monkeys typing : http://www.douglasjohnston.net/weblog/

Douglas: nice blog entry that should draw some new users to Devon.
You said “(Note: because Firefox is not a 100% Cocoa application, it doesn’t support a number of OS X services and abilities that Safari does. This means that I’ve actually been spending far more time in the latter lately; it hasn’t been too unpleasurable.)”

You might give Camino a try – it’s a services-aware, OSX cousin of Firefox.