Annotations Template

Hi.

It seems like the Annotations template originally placed annotations in an Annotations Group. Recently I tried using the template again on (linked) documents in a Group containing only linked documents and the Annotations template placed the annotation file in the same Group as the original (Parent) linked file.

Is there anyway to adjust this new behavior so that the annotations file is once again placed in the Annotations Group. I’ve looked in the package contents of _Annotation___Cmd-Shift-Alt-A but have to admit I’m not too good at deciphering it.

Thanks.

Andrew

I believe the Annotations template has always placed the new document from template in the same groups as the parent document. However, all the Annotation documents also appear in an Annotations smart group, which is perhaps what you recall from before? This is what the smart group looks like, in the event that your database(s) no longer have this smart group.

When the Annotation note feature was first added, it placed Annotation notes in a group of their own. Users requested a change from that placement of Annotation notes.

I think most people prefer placing the Annotation note in the same group as the referenced document. That better fits the likely content of the Annotation note when Classify or See Also is invoked, and in a Name sort will place the Annotation note adjacent to the referenced document.

You can, of course, move Annotation notes to an Annotation group, if you prefer. Or see them in a smart group based on the occurrence of “Annotation” in a Name search.

You may modify the default Annotation template to save the annotation where you wish. To do so:

1. Locate ~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/Templates.noindex
  2. Locate the default template (_Annotation___Cmd-Shift-Alt-A.templatescriptd)