Are encrypted database archives also encrypted?

I use the File, Export, Database archive to make backups of my databases.

Does anyone know if I back up an encrypted database, is the backup also encrypted / password protected?

Welcome @Cisk

The encrypted database Is stored in An encrypted disk image, so the disk image should be backed up.

Thanks Bluefrog - I’m new to DTP and I’ve been backing up my databases (which are a mixture of encrypted & regular databases) to a local drive using File / Export / Database, to create *.dtBase2.zip files.

My concern / question is that I can’t find anywhere online or in the manual that says if the .zip file is encrypted if it’s an archive of an encrypted database - I know you could create the archive to an encrypted volume, I just wondered if the zip file itself is encrypted if it’s an archive of an encrypted database - because if it isn’t then presumably someone could just unzip it without a password…

No the database isn’t encrypted when you export to a ZIP file.
And the database itself isn’t encrypted in this case. When the database is open it’s not encrypted. It’s encrypted when it’s closed no different than FileVault or iOS uses.

After reading your latest tips on the blog, also the manual and doing some (re)searching on this community forum, I remain a bit puzzled on backing on iOS, ipadOS and macOS.

1. I’ve hit the switch in your DTTG app to prevent iCloud Backups, so iOS and ipadOS are no longer storing my data to iCloud Backup.

2. I’ve also setup encryption for data stores synced to iCloud (inbox + active projects) and Dropbox (same + all other DBs). So both my sync stores are E2E encrypted.