Auto-search incoming doc and generate alarm if text string found

Hi - I’ve been using DT happily since 2010 - initially for my MSc, then as a file repository for a legal practice.
I would like to do the following:
Send file to the global inbox (manually), then:

1. DT automatically searches doc for given text strings, then
  2. DT puts an alarm on my desktop.

I knew a teeny bit of AppleScript years ago, and have the Sal Seghoian bible, but haven’t got a clue where to start…

What does this mean? How do you have an alarm on your desktop ? :thinking:

And what ”text strings” ?

Automation requires clear directions.

Thanks for the very speedy reply. Forgive me if I’m being sloppy in my choice of terms for the question:
Alarm - Should have said Notification - banner that pops out at the right hand side of my screen. Devonthink 3 sent me one a couple of days ago about how to generate a new database template.
Text string - I receive Court Case Listings as email attachments several times daily. I want to automate the process of searching them for cases in which we are instructed using either the client’s surname or the alphanumeric case reference. Obviously the list of case names / references will need updating semi-daily.

A smart rule could do that, I think. But how many search strings are we talking about?

Depends how I do it - if I update weekly for what “SHOULD” be called into court the next week, then 10-20.
If I’m checking for nasty surprises on any of the cases running at any given time, then more like 100.
The UK criminal court system is on its knees, and all sorts of unexpected things can and do happen.

A smart rule for 10 to 20 strings should be ok. More than that, and it’ll become tedious.

One possibility might be to put the strings (aka case number, client names) into a separate file. A script (possibly run by the smart rule) can read this file and check the incoming record against the strings it finds there.