Automatically retrieve PDFs from pubmed search entries

Hi,

I am new to DevonThink and I am still trying to figure out how I can do certain jobs better. I often use DevonAgent to retrieve Pubmed entries to a certain topic (e.g. MET receptor). I get like up to 100 hits and import them to DT as resource. Most of the entries have available pdfs of the articles. Is there a way to retrieve the pdfs for all the 100 entries in DT automatically. I know how to do it manually but it takes a long time. Is it better to do this in Bookends and then bring them into DT?

Thanks,
Marco

1 Like

How do you download it manually? The URL of a result having PDFs would be useful.

It’s a multi step process. After I imported the journal resource page to DT:

I have to click on full text links after that and choose the source e.g.

Then I have to click on the pdf format source:

When you use Bookends or Endnote they can scrape the pdf directly from the citation in pubmed. I don’t know how they do it but would be great if DT could do the same.

Thanks,
Marco

This can be scripted, e.g. the following script checks whether one of the selected items in DEVONthink is a PubMed result and then tries to add the download to the download manager:

-- Download PDFs from PubMed

tell application id "DNtp"
	repeat with theRecord in selected records
		set theURL to URL of theRecord
		if theURL begins with "https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/" then
			set theSource to download markup from theURL
			repeat with theLink in (get links of theSource base URL theURL)
				if theLink begins with "https://www.mdpi.com/resolver?pii=" then
					set theSource to download markup from theLink
					repeat with theDownload in (get links of theSource base URL theLink)
						if theDownload ends with "/pdf" then add download theDownload
					end repeat
					exit repeat
				end if
			end repeat
		end if
	end repeat
end tell