Backing up DevonThink pro office database

Hi,
I am new to Apple Macs and DevonThink. I have just purchased DTPO to go paperless and excited about it. Today I spent 4 hours importing PDFs and scanning etc.
I am really paranoid about data loss and so I want to make sure I backup frequently.
I have read a few posts where Time Machine is recommended. I have a TM backup and it is about 300GB in size as I have lots of other data. I am then paranoid about anything happening to my external drive. Yes I can maybe get another drive and keep another TM copy etc.
To look after 300GB is not exactly portable. What I am looking to do is backup only the DTPO database etc (which will not be big) so I can store multiple backups in the cloud or to different media etc. Currently my DTPO (.dtbase2) file size is only 500MB.
I have seen some posts where people are suggesting ways to backup which seems scary to me as being a newbie to Mac and DTPO i am still finding my way round.
I thought that I could just backup everything by selecting an option from software and point to location. In the TOOLS menu there is ā€˜backup and optimiseā€™. What does this do? I am confused! Please help as all I want to be sure and feel confident that my data is safe with a simple backup procedure.
Is it just a matter of copying DatabaseName.dtBase2 file or is there more to it? If I decide to use a third party software, what would I need t backup.
I also wanted to install DTPO onto another Mac (different location) and transport the database to that machine as a disaster fallback and maybe I can test backup and recovery procedure.
Sorry for many questions and I hope someone can guide me (step by step idiot mode)

Thank you

I applaud you for having a backup system for all your data. Time Machine will protect you from a boot drive crash and other possible problems.