Backup/Export Best Practices

New Devonthink user. Am moving content over and really like the setup (previously had used OneNote as store all before it was cloud only, and more recently using Synology drive with oct’ed pdfs, so devonthink is so much more powerful).

From reading forum posts and the quick start guide my current setup is Devonthink imported all of my files, and the only folder that I index is my obsidian folder (which is in iCloud so it syncs to my iPhone/iPad). While the CloudKit sync worked well, I ended up setting up my Synology 918 to run a webdav server and using this for sync (I see multiple posts where this seems to be a more stable solution, please correct me if I am wrong). I predominantly highlight pdf on iPad, add content from iOS/iPad, really only use the Mac sparingly but know I will need to boot it up a bit more frequently for sync now.

With regards to backup and exporting I have a few questions. (I am a complete beginner with devonthink so I appreciate all help!)

For backup, can I just copy my devonthink webdav on my Synology to an offsite location (I am thinking about setting a nightly 3AM folder sync of this to one drive and my offsite Synology so I have 2 copies). I believe this should remain encrypted since it is just copying the encrypted file.

I would also like to keep a copy of the raw files in a normal folder structure, which I believe the Export command does. This would like me in a non-remote accessible share on my Synology in case something ever happens to the database would at least have the files all accounted for and accessible until the database can be rebuilt. Can this only be done from the Mac? Is there anyway to do this from the Synology directly (maybe this is something that might warrant devonthink server to give this ability)? Is there any easy way to automate this. This seems like it doesn’t need to be done daily, but maybe weekly or monthly seems like a good way to go.