Base a search on known links?

Hi,

I’m a bit new to DevonAgent but like the application.

Is there a option to base a search not on terms manually inputted into the fast search field, but give the application a list of known good results.
I would imagine the application could identify the common factors and do an auxiliary search based on these terms.

thanks

Wally

That’s an interesting idea and similar approaches have been discussed several times in the forum.

Some software attempts to look at the text content of a displayed page and find possibly related items on the Web. The concept is rather similar to the See Also feature in DEVONthink, but so far has been done in a much simpler way. For example, the software might attempt to identify several ‘most important’ terms and base a Web search on those terms. Christian has experimented with several approaches like that and perhaps we’ll see something like this in the DA browser in the future.

To look at the entire set of results of a DA search and ‘distill’ the key contextual items that might support a search for related items on the Web, as you suggested, is a more interesting and more complex idea. In effect, DA would examine the set of results and devise a new search query to expand or limit the search. If the user can ‘tell’ DA which page(s) among the set of search results are the most interesting, such an approach might result in a new search query that would produce richer results for the user, and/or a process similar to the existing “See Also” in DEVONthink.