Best way to scan to .rtf?

I’m scanning a lot of research (documents and articles) into a new DTPO database, and would like them to be .rtf documents, not .pdfs.

I’m using a ScanSnap scanner - how can I have it send documents to DTPO as .rtf files?

I have limited experience with going beyond OCR’ed pdfs. Here is what I can say: I recently got the full version of ABBYY Finereader to accomplish some more involved OCR. In particular, I was interested in replacing the (image/text layer) method for certain documents with “text only”, i.e. the scanned image characters get replaced in the pdf by similar looking actual font characters (for the obvious reason that the file is vastly smaller). This works quite well for many documents. Then I saw that Finereader also offered saving as docx (and probably rtf as well). I figured that once the text (characters and words) and structure (paragraphs, sections, headlines) are properly recognized, it should be easy to dump that into a Word file. The ability to further re-format this document (e.g. changing globally the font size, to create a version that reads well on an iPhone and another on an iPadPro) makes this attractive. The results in terms of the formatting was very poor and I gave up on it. Writing to EPUB also was disappointing. Writing to “font only” pdf, on the other is often amazingly good.

This might work much better for you, who knows. But: the beauty of (image/text layer) is that even if there are numerous mistakes in the OCR, you always know that you have the original image to go by. At most, your text search can be faulty here and there, which is a lot more benign than whole sections being unreadable.

So be careful with going into production mode with any method that does not preserve the image layer, unless you anyway check and fix each document in detail at the time it gets scanned.