Blended Databases

Hi folks,

I’m looking for some insights or possible workflow strategies on how to better organize what I might call “blended databases.”

I am an academic researcher, and as such, often work with many different types of documents in a given project. I like to create a database for each project I’m working on. The problem with this, however, is that given the wide range of documents/texts I collect for each project, organization and the display of information is limited.

For example, I have several groups that each contain different kinds of documents (e.g. case law, freedom of information requests, government policy papers, etc.).

Each of these contains relevant metadata that I would like to take advantage of. For example, case law have legal citations that I need. FOIs have government agency information, FOI numbers, etc. that I may need displayed.

I know, however, that you may only customize metadata at the database level and not the group level. Do folks have any ideas or can share tips that they use on how to navigate this issue?

Thank you!

I’m wondering what are the benefits for creating separate databases?
Personally, I’m using a single database; sync’d between my Mac and iPad
My projects are categorized by tag

I realize size limitations may eventually force me into split databases

Custom metadata in the Pro and Server editions is global, i.e., not per-database, so you have access to the properties in all open databases.

Right, but the way I imagine my database is on a per project level.

So, for example, if I want to my custom metadata columns to be 1. Filename; 2. Case Citation; 3. City, etc. for my case law folder, then I’m stuck with that column set up in the entire database, right? In my policy paper folder, I would not be able to have metadata such as Government Agency, Policy Identifier, etc.