Can't get "Bates Numbering" to work

I am new to DEVONthink and currently using the trial version. I am having trouble with Apply Rules > Bates Numbering. It doesn’t do anything when I try to run it.

I create a testing database called demo. I then import a few files into that database > select all the items and run “Apply Rules” > “Bates Numbering”. I would expect the files to be renamed to demo-#BATES-originalfilename.extension.

Am I missing something? Why isn’t it working?

Welcome @lehoco

Double-click the smart rule. What does it show?

(I have increased your forum trust level so you should be able to post a screen capture.)

The rule looks like this.

There is no condition in your rule, which is why it does not work. Click the + adjacent to all of the following are true and add a condition, such as kind is any document.

2 Likes

And I would be more specific about the target database and the kind of file(s) or you could number every file you have!

I just thought that the default rule from DEVONthink would actually work without modification. I don’t know why they ship it with DEVONthink then to be honest.