Capitalizes words according to typical English titling conventions

Hi All,

Another automating and scripting request. Is it possible to embed and run the Perl script below as a script within DEVONthink 3? The Source of this script is from the PopClip Title Case Extension here which uses U.K. titling conventions.

What I’d like to achieve, is to select a number of records I wish to convert to Title Case (using this perl script) and have DT3 rename all those files via a script action.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated! Thank you for your help in advance. :grinning:

p.s. I’m still a total noob at scripting so am pretty hopeless when knowing exactly what I need to do to make this work. I know Keyboard Maestro might also be an option… But working out how to execute this script is still beyond me.

Perl Script:

#!/usr/bin/perl

# 	This filter changes all words to Title Caps, and attempts to be clever
#	about *un*capitalizing small words like a/an/the in the input.
#
#	The list of "small words" which are not capped comes from
#	the New York Times Manual of Style, plus 'vs' and 'v'. 
#
#	10 May 2008
#	Original version by John Gruber:
#	http://daringfireball.net/2008/05/title_case
#
#	28 July 2008
#	Re-written and much improved by Aristotle Pagaltzis:
#	http://plasmasturm.org/code/titlecase/
#
#   Full change log at __END__.
#
#	License: http://www.opensource.org/licenses/mit-license.php
#

use strict;
use warnings;
use utf8;
use open qw( :encoding(UTF-8) :std );

my @small_words = qw( (?<!q&)a an and as at(?!&t) but by en for if in of on or the to v[.]? via vs[.]? );
my $small_re = join '|', @small_words;

my $apos = qr/ (?: ['’] [[:lower:]]* )? /x;

while ( <> ) {
	#s{\A\s+}{}, s{\s+\z}{};

$_ = lc $_ if not /[[:lower:]]/;

s{
		\b (_*) (?:
			( (?<=[ ][/\\]) [[:alpha:]]+ [-_[:alpha:]/\\]+ |   # file path or
			  [-_[:alpha:]]+ [@.:] [-_[:alpha:]@.:/]+ $apos )  # URL, domain, or email
			|