Change name from YYMMDD to YYYY-MM-DD

Hello everyone,

I am currently in the process of moving most my documents from my finder storage to DEVONthink to have everything in one place and use this opportunity to rename the files. Unfortunately I am having a hard time with batch renaming in DEVONhtink. I used to store dates in the format YYMMDD and would like to change these to YYYY-MM-DD but cannot figure out how to do this easily.

From this post (Smart Rule to delete first two Numbers of File names) I know you can use RegEx, but I have no idea on how to use them.

Could anyone please help me or does have a better idea? One other idea I had was to rename them with a renamer program prior to importing to DEVONthink but that changes the document date (last changed) which I need for categorizing.

And considering how mighty RegEx seem to be, does anyone have a good source for learning them (total beginner)? Thanks! :slight_smile:

Thank you very much!

Frederik

2 Likes

The title of your post seems to indicate the exact opposite of what your text says Let’s stick with the text, then the search expression would be
(\d\d)(\d\d)(\d\d) (YYMMDD)
and the replace expression
20\1-\2-\3 (20YY-MM-DD)
if you’re using the rename with regular expression script in DT. And things get hairier if your years include the previous century…

There’s a batch rename option, too. But I’m not at my Mac now, so I can’t check that.

1 Like

Hello chrillek,

thanks. Yes, I mixed the tiles up. I am currently a bit under the weather. Sorry.

Thanks, I will try your script. I only need 20th century. :slight_smile:

I did look int the Apple Scrips options but couldn’t find anything that could help me.

All the best

Frederik

I didn’t post one. Only the expressions to use with the script that comes with DT.