Changing my way of using DTPO for research

First off, I have been using Devonthink for several years and been enjoying it greatly. I appreciate the versatility and stability of the software.
I am a researcher (life science) running a lab and use DTPO mainly for two tasks:

• topical databases for things that are central to my research. I just dump everything in there, knowing that this will be the place to look it up be it a pdf research article, a hurriedly scribbled note of an idea I had, etc.
  • I index all my research literature that I keep in my reference management software (currently in Sente and Papers, but I will finally make up my mind once Papers 2 is out).

While I used to work on two different computers (office/home) and synchronized both to a portable Firewire harddrive, I have now put everything on a MBP 15’’ which has become my main computer. It has its disadvantages such as lugging the computer around all the time but at least I have one big worry off my mind (keeping everything in sync). Besides, I am not sure if the Sorter would take kindly to being sync’ed between two computers.

Since upgrading to DTPO 2 I have been asking myself if I make the best use of the software. Most notably, I keep all my files in folders in Finder, only some items, mostly information snippets clipped from webpages, actually reside inside my libraries.

One thing I am particularly unsure about is if I should depart from the filesystem-base storage concept and declare and use DTPO my one and only information administration hub. Before you point me elsewhere: Yes, I did read the online help and and searched the forums and am at roughly familiar with pros and cons of either approach. Feel free to point out particularly relevant points though. But what I don’t know is if all the information is up to date and how much of an (dis)advantage some things represent in practice. Hence the longish introduction to give you an idea about my work.

In no particular order: