Confused about Append feature in Services Menu

I’m new to DTP.

This is just baffling to me.

I’ve got three separate test notes, I guess you call them, in the left hand vertical pane (I’m using the vertical split view)

Test note 1
Test note 2
Test note 3

I select Test Note 2, then go to Entourage and select a portion of an email. then I go to Entourage Services Menu and choose Append Plain Text, expecting that the text will end up in the Test Note 2 content area. But no, the Text ends up in a new note instead.

What is going on? The documentation doesn’t really explain this very well or I’m just a block head.

Here’s what the online Help says about “append rich text note”:

Append Plain/Rich Note: Adds selected text from any Cocoa or modern Carbon application as plain or rich text TO THE LAST NOTE TAKEN USING THE DEVONTHINK PRO OFFICE SERVICES MENU ITEMS.

I changed the pertinent text to all caps.

In other words, you were likely getting text transferred into your database, but not to the document you expected would receive it. :slight_smile:

That Service will not append selected text to any arbitrarily chosen document. You could have used copy/paste to append new text to the document you had chosen.

Bill,

Thank you for your quick response.

I’m still not getting it.

Maybe I should rephrase my question to "How do I use the Append Text services menu so that I can append selected text in an Entourage email to go right into the last opened Note instead of appearing as a new Note?

I guess what you are telling me is that I can’t choose an older note to edit then have text appended to that note using the services menu since the services append text will only attach the selected text as a new note under that last note created (by creation date). Is that what’s going on? I can only copy and paste into an older note, but not use the services menu to append to it?