Considering upgrading and have some questions

Hello.

I have been using DT Personal 2 for a few years for all of my capturing and reading of stuff that doesn’t require filing. For my filing I have been scanning using the ScanSnap S510M to a network drive, then going in with Leap and assigning tags.

I would love to get rid of Leap and just have DT Pro Office, and have multiple databases, etc. However, I have questions before I do this:

1. Can I index from network drive?

2. Can I start by indexing, then import later to that drive after I scan?

3. Does ScanSnap S510m integrate? Is it one step scanning (ie, scan and then file)?

4. Can I scan directly to the network drive?

5. Can I move items from one database to another without having to export from one, close it, then open the other and import? I’m sure I have some receipts and other stuff that should be in the new “filing cabinet” database.

6. Is there a trial version that I can download and use alongside my paid Personal version? or would it replace that version?

7. If I choose not to upgrade, will my original database be hard to retract?

Thanks!

Yes.

Do you want to import the indexed files later (can be achieved using the new “Move into database” command of v2.0.5) or do you want to add files to the network drive which should also be indexed (can be done using File > Synchronize)?

Yes.

Not if you’re using the DEVONthink integration (see above).

Yes (via drag & drop and contextual/action menus).

See devon-technologies.com/download

DEVONthink Pro Office and Personal could be used concurrently but in case of bookmarklets or services Mac OS X might sometimes use Pro Office, sometimes Personal.

Installing the PDF services for DEVONthink Pro Office will also deinstall the ones of Personal but you can reinstall them later using Help > Install Add-ons.

No. DEVONthink Pro (Office) won’t modify the personal database/preferences. An already existing personal database will be copied instead.